Taylor Swift makes history with fourth win on IFPI Global Artist Chart

1 month ago 175

Taylor Swift, who secured the award for the second consecutive year, has now become the sole artist to achieve the prestigious title for the fourth time.

Following her win of four People's Choice Awards last week, Taylor Swift has been officially named the biggest global artist of 2023. On Wednesday, February 21, the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI) declared Swift as the winner of the Global Artist Chart for the second year running. The "Cruel Summer" hitmaker also made history by clinching the prestigious title for the fourth time.

The announcement was made by IFPI on X, formerly known as Twitter, with the message, “#1 – Taylor Swift The unstoppable @taylorswift13 returns to take the throne at No. 1 for the 2nd year in a row, breaking her own record as the 1st ever 4x Global Artist Chart winner. Congratulations Taylor, you are officially the #1 Global Artist of the year!”

Swift's achievements in 2023 were undeniable. Alongside other accolades, the "Blank Space" singer was named Time's Person of the Year and Spotify's Global Top Artist.

But it seems this was only the beginning for the 34-year-old pop icon. Swift started off 2024 by securing her 13th Grammy Award. Her consistent achievements underscore her dedication to her career. The "Look What You Made Me Do" singer topped the charts in 2014, 2019, 2022, and 2023.

Lewis Morrison, Director of Charts and Certifications at IFPI, remarked, “We are immensely proud to award the IFPI Global Recording Artist of the Year Award to Taylor Swift for the fourth time, as she continues to redefine the limits of global success. Taylor is a singular talent, and her commitment to her craft and her fans is truly phenomenal.”

SEVENTEEN, the renowned K-pop group, secured the second spot on the IFPI list, just behind Swift. Out of the 20 artists and groups on the list, Lana Del Rey, who ranked 10th, was the only other female musician besides Swift. Other notable winners include K-pop group Stray Kids, Drake, The Weeknd, Bad Bunny, Morgan Wallen, Ed Sheeran, Eminem, Travis Scott, Kanye West, Post Malone, and Zach Bryan.